New Chapter in Life

Recently, I accepted an offer from the large public university where I have been teaching as an adjunct to become a full-time assistant professor. After a decade in quantitative finance (and another few years in software development and management consulting), I have now come full circle and landed back in academia. I’m very excited about this opportunity and the start of a new chapter in my professional life. I enjoy teaching as well as studying financial topics as a researcher.

Even though, as an academic, I’ll no longer be very close to the quant finance job market, I plan to continue doing quantitative consulting work for financial investment firms, and I will be advising graduate students who are considering opportunities in quant finance, so I’ll be keeping abreast of the happenings in the industry. As often as I can, I will continue posting additional job search advice and real-world job interview questions, as well as sharing any information about the quant job market I’ve heard through the grapevine.

As always, happy hunting and best of luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Chapter in Life

  1. James Lin says:

    Hello Brett:

    My wife is a tenure-track professor. I told her about your career path, and she expressed deep admiration that I can’t help sharing. Your courage and willingness to follow your heart set an inspiring example for all of the people who are unhappy about their professional life, and yet are too afraid to change things.

    My wife’s former advisor started his academic career in his forties, and that didn’t prevent him to become a world-famous figure in the field. If you have a genuine interest in Chinese and East Asian history, I am sure that you can do the same. Do not listen to anyone who will try to put you down. There will be plenty of such people, and, guess what, they are simply jealous of your courage and determination to live your own life as opposed to someone else’s.

    All the best,
    James Lin, Ph.D.

  2. Chao says:

    Congratulations, Brett. Enjoy your new life style.

Leave a Reply

