Online Networking Bad for You?

Last night I read on a career advice site that popular online social networking sites like MySpace and Facebook are really bad for job seekers because many employers ("one in four," according to the article) cross-check these sites to see if a candidate has a page there. The article claims no employer likes to see a candidate having such a page, probably because users of such sites are often perceived to be either immature or insane (my guess). So if you want to maximize your chances of getting a serious job, you might want to avoid having a presence on these popular social networking sites.

This entry was posted in Advice and Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Online Networking Bad for You?

  1. Avi says:

    All I can say is this:I’ve read a lot of resume/cover-letter/get-a-job books and my impression was that for every opinion of the form do-something you can find a book that says don’t-do-that.If just one source said that I won’t erase (or hide)my facebook account

  2. Brett says:

    Of course, it’s entirely up to the individual to decide what to do. I know some coworkers in my group look up candidates who come in for on-site interviews, but I don’t do that myself.
     
    -brett

Leave a Reply

