Announcement: To My IM Buddies (on MSN)

To my IM buddies (on MSN Messenger): yesterday I went to see an orthopedic doctor about serious pains in my wrists and forearms and was told (as I had suspected) that they had been caused by my constant using computers and my T-Mobile Sidekick. I was told to cut back on my computer use.

As such, for the foreseeable future, I will no longer log onto MSN Messenger (which is the only IM client I use) from my Sidekick. If you need to contact me with comments or questions, please send me an e-mail anytime at quantcareer @t hotmail, my MSN ID. I look forward to continuing talking to you guys — and thanks for the many great things you guys have taught me on IM!

As always, good luck with your career planning!

-brett

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Announcement: To My IM Buddies (on MSN)

  1. Brett says:

    The last couple of weeks have not been kind to me. My dear grandmother passed away suddenly. My workload has more than doubled as I took on more responsibilities at work. My wrists and arms have constant pains (and I still need to work!). My backaches have returned. My son Charlie, now 15 months old, is demanding more attention and playtime from me. And my value-oriented stock investments have done poorly this summer. I guess I need a vacation! (Haven’t taken one in 2 years…) I so want to take a 3-week trip to China, to visit my relatives in Guangzhou and Chengdu, and to see the city where I grew up, Guilin (a scenic city in the Guangxi Province). I’ve also yearned to visit my ancestral home in Shandong, which I’ve never visited.
     
    Anyway, I want to take this opportunity to thank all the kind readers of my book and visitors to this blog who have e-mailed me. You guys are just great! Your warm e-mails make me feel I did not write a useless book. I promise I’ll always do my best to be of help. I’m not always right (nobody can ever be), but I make an effort to provide relevant information and honest opinions.
     
    A heart-felt thanks to all my readers and blog visitors!
     
    -brett

  2. Wu Chao says:

    Bless, brett. Health is the first thing for everybody.  When you are on travel, please be careful too. It seems a long and interesting journey for you.

  3. Brett says:

    I’m not traveling any time soon…  Unfortunately work has gotten crazy lately.  I don’t think I’ll get a chance to take any vacation soon.  (Luckily, like most quants, I don’t have to work weekends.)  That China trip is just a dream; I don’t know when I’ll be able to undertake it.
     
    I will keep updating this blog on a daily basis.  So come back often for more quantitative questions and other "goodies"!  🙂
     
    -brett 

  4. zhonggui says:

     bless:)
    Indeed, I also noticed that I spend too much time in front of a computer on a daily basis…That’s why I started to go to the gym;)

  5. Brett says:

    My wife keeps telling me to go to the gym, but between work (9 hours a day) and cooking and feeding the baby, plus just looking after him all weekend (my wife works weekends a lot), I have no time to myself at all.  Like today, I’m only being able to update this blog because Charlie is taking a longer-than-usual nap.  Oh no, I just remembered I needed to pay my credit card bills!
     
    -brett 

Leave a Reply

