Very Useful Tool: Online Talking Dictionary

Regardless of whether English is your native language, there’s no doubt that you often, or occasionally, come across an English word that you cannot pronounce. I highly recommend you bookmark the Encarta Online Dictionary at http://dictionary.msn.com (which redirects to http://encarta.msn.com/encnet/features/dictionary/dictionaryhome.aspx). Not only does this free online dictionary give you easy-to-understand definitions, but features a natural text-to-speech engine that speaks the word out aloud to you.

Incidentally, the Encarta Dictionary has an entry for the word "quant"!

This entry was posted in Advice and Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Very Useful Tool: Online Talking Dictionary

  1. dean says:

    Hi Brett,I just finished reading your book and it was very informative. I want to ask a few questions. I have a bachelors in finance and now I can’t get into any financial engineering programs because I need a lot of advanced math. Should I go get a BS degree in mathematics or a BS in computer science, or a BS in software engineering? Thanks a lot

  2. Brett says:

    Hi, Dean!  Thanks for reading my book and leaving a nice comment!  I appreciate it.
     
    If you want to be a quant, additional coursework in math and/or applied math will be very helpful.  I don’t know if it’s easy for you to get another bachelor’s; if so, go for it.  And don’t forget to apply to MFE programs before the deadlines. 🙂
     
    If you’re not sure about being a quant, I think a BS in either CS or SE will allow you to work in IT in many different industries: finance, dotcom, software, biotech, … anything.  Of course, that’s assuming you like programming.  🙂
     
    Whichever you choose to do, be sure to pick up good C++ skills, which are essential even for pure quant shops on Wall Street.
     
    Good luck!  (BTW you can always reach me at my e-mail quantcareer @t hotmail).
     
    -brett
     

  3. dean says:

    Hi Brett,Thank you for responding and providing me with your email. Don’t wanna sound like an ingratiating sycophant, but when something is great, I have to give adulation. Your book is probably by far the best investment I’ve made since it covers every topic a potential quant needs to know. I am starting out with a degree in plain finance which won’t get me into any MFE programs and your advice is invaluable to me. dean

Leave a Reply

