Interview Question: Triangular Mystery

Sample Question #24 (mathematical brainteaser)

Answer this as fast as you can, without writing anything down:

The perimeter of a right triangle is 5 inches. The two legs are each 2 inches long. What’s the length of the hypotenuse?

(Comment: this is one of my favorite questions)

This entry was posted in Sample Qs. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Interview Question: Triangular Mystery

  1. Wu Chao says:

    It is a pity that I need the help of dictionary to understand the question. What I learned for those knowledge is in Chinese and I did not encounter them in English such that I cannot recognize them.My answer is 1 inch although it does not satisfy a^2+b^2=c^2. Simple answer sometimes is the right answer?? We cannot say the problem is wrong.:) The triangle is not in one surface, but in other dimension. Could you share me your answer? Thanks.

Leave a comment